Music Directors & Conductors Laureate

The Swedish Radio Choir was founded in the same year as the Swedish Radio Service began its broadcasts and the choir gave its inaugural concert in May 1925. The choir’s first Music Directors set the bar high right away, with a pronounced ambition early on to perform contemporary Swedish choral music. Later on, the choir’s international fame grew under the leadership of Eric Ericson. With his progressive repertoire and unwavering ambition, he made the Swedish Radio Choir an internationally renowned vocal instrument of the highest degree.

Music Directors:

Kaspars Putniņš (2020–)
Peter Dijkstra (2007–2018)
Stefan Parkman (2002–2005)
Tõnu Kaljuste (1995–2001)
Gustaf Sjökvist (1986–1994)
Anders Öhrwall (1982–1985)
Eric Ericson (1952–1982)
Einar Ralf (1939–1952)
Axel Nylander (1925–1939)
Gustaf Malm (1925)

Conductors Laureate:

Peter Dijkstra
Tõnu Kaljuste